The effects of technology in a 10 year old boy

Posted: August 28, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi,

This is my first blog ever, so I thought it’s just fair to have as a subject the person that introduced me to Web Logging, my 10 year old nephew. As an Educator with a passion for new technologies, I enjoy watching the behavious of my nephew as he uses technology in his personal life and how much positive impact this is having in his development.

For example, last year he needed to find out how to hatch a Dragonage (at least I think that’s how you spell it) egg, so he got to his computer and searched the net to find what he needed. It was just amazing to watch him reading and selecting the information he needed. He could quickly distinguish between links that would lead him to a dead end from useful sites and in a matter of few minutes he found a detailed explanation of the procedure, applied it to his “Viva Pignata” game on his X-Box 360 and got the desired outcome. In this exercise, which he enjoyed thouroughly, he displayed and developed very useful skills, e.g. he developed his reading and comprehension skills, analysis and synthesis, etc.

Today, he was showing me WordPress and he subscribed me to it. Then he showed me how to create a blog and how he uses his blogs. Then, he needed a code from another domain in his computer, so he logged off and logged into the other partition, found the code, opened his browser, emailed the code to himself, logged in to his other domain and used the code from his email. Some of my Yr 11 pupils would not know how to do that. What was impressive wasn’t the fact he can use online email services, but the way he made technology work for him and how he solved quite a complex problem for his age.

By the way here is his blog:

aaronwyn.wordpress.com

So, has technology made him a genius? Probably not. He has always been a bright boy and has an enquiring mind, but I am sure technology has had and still has a very positive impact on his development!

Alessio

Comments
  1. Claire Jones says:

    Wow what a fantastic story and shows the power of technology. I hope many many more 10 year olds that I meet/teach will be as confident as him in the future.

Leave a Reply

