Comics, Superheroes and Momentum!

Posted: July 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

I previously posted a blog on “The Physics of Superheroes” and explained how I use Superheroes movies like X-men 3 to introduce the idea of Momentum in my Yr 11 classes. The activity was quite successful, so I decided to push even further by asking my children to write a comic about momentum and superheroes!

To write the comics my pupils used the Marvel Kids Comic Creator, a fantastic online tool that lets you compile comic strips using the Marvel Comics characters. You can also change the backgrounds, use props and a variety of speech bubbles that makes the whole process very easy and enjoyable. So, the children have the freedom to be creative, and at the same time they can focus on the Physics. I first heard about this great tool from Ollie Bray, a great Educator! Follow him on Twitter if you don’t already.

Here is an example pupils’ work from Michael and Liam

I though this strip was particularly good and quite creative. Yes, there is a mistake in the bottom section of the second page, but overall I really enjoyed reading it and I think the kids got a lot out of it, especially when we could discuss that mistake.

So, what is the mistake? Can you spot it? Please, write your thought as a comment to this blog.

Thanks!

Comments
  1. […] About Comics, Superheroes and Momentum! […]

Leave a Reply

