The Chores QR Cube!

Posted: November 22, 2012 in Free Resources, new technologies
Tags: , , , ,

Yesterday it was my eldest boy’s birthday. He turned eight! I know it makes me sound old, but to tell you the truth that also makes me physically feel much older and more tired than ever 😦 Anyway, a sudden thought came through my mind as I was pondering my relationship with my four boys and I realised that I am already more of a Chauffeur, a Butler, waiter, cook and a cleaner than a dad to them. And things are going to get worse as they grow up! So, I decided to come up with a fun way to involve them in little tasks they can manage everyday.

Cross-cultural marriage

The other reason  to attempt this training is that I want to save them from the clashes they will inevitably encounter in their marriage, if they are brought up the way I was. I am Italian, you see? and I have a sister. And, being Italy a much more civilized country than Britain, my sister was made to do all the chores when we were young and I didn’t have to lift a finger (only kidding about the civilized bit BTW, a bit of humour won’t hurt my lady readers :-).

The problem with this blissful youth is that it hits you when Mamma is no longer there to serve you, especially if you marry a beautiful Welsh woman, who is used to fairness in the house and job shares 😉

In short, my cross-cultural marriage has brought me to the following paradigms.

How my wife sees me

 

How I see myself

That is not my wife BTW and the guy is not me either 😉

 

The Cube!

I have gone back playing with QR codes recently, so I thought it would be fun to try to win my boys over and get them to share some of the chores using a simple game and technology. The game is a dice, the cube, and the technology is Quick Response codes! So, I came up with the The chores QR Cube (which you can download by clicking on the words). Each face of the cube has a QR code which, if scanned with a QR code reader app on your smartphone, will return the job the boy who rolled the dice has to do.

 

I have to admit I was a bit sceptical at the beginning, but I was amazed tonight when I tried it and all three boys (the baby is a bit small still) were eager to get their job done, so they could come back and roll the dice again 🙂 Success!!!

Comments
  1. gdw100 says:

    Is it still working?

Leave a Reply

