This is my second mind map in an attempt to visually display the draft Science Curriculum in England and this time the focus of the Mind Map is Energy. In my previous post on this issue I set out to see how coherently the new curriculum has been written and I suggested that depending on how difficult it would be to mind map the various parts of the curriculum could give an indication of that. I have to say that in this second Mind Map I could find quite a few key ideas that interrelated to other branches quite nicely. However, I felt that I had to separate Conservation of Energy from Dissipation of Energy, even though the new curriculum has them under the same heading (which is fine in the document I think), as I wanted to stress the importance of the Principle of Conservation of Energy. Something I was not too sure about was the inclusion of renewable energy sources and fuel resources under the Conservation and Dissipation section. As a whole I am fairly pleased with this Mind Map and I think the development of this unit is quite coherent. I might have missed something though and I value your comments in that respect.

You can use the Mind Map below, or download the iMindMap version and edit it from this Biggerplate page.

Physics Energy

Comments
  1. behrfacts says:

    Hi Alessio, I really like this and I am no expert on the physics curriculum! I do however use mind mapping for a lot of my project planning and thinking and rate it highly. Great if it featured more within education.

    • Alessio Bernardelli says:

      Thanks for your kind comment! I agree that Mind Mapping should feature more in education and that more schools should embrace the process through professional training on it and a coordinated approach between departments.

  2. gdw100 says:

    Interesting how you’ve categorised that.

  3. Helen says:

    Hi Alessio
    This is really useful. If you don’t mind, I would like to share it with some trainee teachers in a training session as I think it gives a good overview of how the energy topic fits together.

  4. […] This is my second mind map in an attempt to visually display the draft Science Curriculum in England and this time the focus of the Mind Map is Energy. In my previous post on this issue I set out t…  […]

  5. Laura says:

    fantastic, do you have more? I have some I will try and find, I do these with the students all the time.

  6. […] “ This is my second mind map in an attempt to visually display the draft Science Curriculum in England and this time the focus of the Mind Map is Energy. In my previous post on this issue I set out t…”  […]

Leave a comment